Spiritual Practice: This Expansive Light of Mine

Carry your CandleEarlier this week Catharine Craig shared a post of inspiration and a reminder of our worth. You are great. You are enough: Validation. Re-read her post about remembering our own worth and then try this reflection and spiritual practice on letting our light shine on others:

By Catharine Craig Doty of Lamoni, Iowa, USA
Re-blogged from: Daily Bread
Photo by: Zac Harmon-McLaughlin

 

There are many who say, “O that we might see some good! Let the light of your face shine on us, O Lord!” …I will…sleep in peace; for you alone, O Lord, make me lie down in safety.
—Psalm 4:6, 8

A song I enjoyed singing as a child was “This Little Light of Mine.” I remember being in the front of our church with the other children, singing my heart out. You remember that song, don’t you? “This little light of mine, I’m gonna let it shine…”

My infant son and I spend our mornings singing. We listen to music in ways not available when I was young. Now we turn on the Xbox and connect to Raffi Radio, a streaming online radio station. Lately, our playlist has included a jazzy version of that same tune I loved to belt out when I was 7. As an adult, the lyrics have a different meaning for me, and I have found a deeper inspiration when I sing to my baby. My expanded light:

This little light of mine
My mission is to let it shine
This little light of mine
A new voice I will find
This little light of mine
God grant me courage to shine
I am light, I am brave, See me shine

Won’t let apathy blow it out
Gonna work to make it shine
Not gonna let doubt shut it out
I trust in the Divine
Won’t let sadness snuff it out
Remember to let God shine
I am light, I am brave, See me shine

As adults we move beyond the innocence of our childhood, and songs and ideas evolve with us. Considering all the hurt, indifference, poverty, and darkness that shadow our world, this children’s hymn seems all the more important to sing, teach, reflect on, and expand with.

[This Little Light of Mine was written and composed in 1920 by Harry Dixon Loes (1895–1965).]

Prayer for Peace

Visionary God, may your light shine in us and through us. May our light overshadow doubt. May we focus our light on injustice and act for justice.

Spiritual Practice: Light

Close your eyes, and become centered with your breath. Reflect on the statement: “The light of God is in all things,” as you breathe gently in and out. The light has a bright, soft beauty and radiates God’s healing love. The light of God reaches you and permeates you with a deep sense of peace. Rest in the light as it surrounds and fills you. Thank God that you live in God’s light, and it lives in you.

Peace Covenant

Today, God, I will look at the world with the light of your love.

Leave a Reply

