What You Were Meant To Do

 what you were meant to do

by Catharine Craig
Last night I was helping my handsome husband put together a presentation for a group of talented young student leaders from a visiting high school. His topic was happiness. His thesis (by the time we had started into brainstorming together) was,

“Happiness is a practice”happy green girl

Happiness is more than a feeling. It’s more than something that happens to us after we experience a personal win or a pleasurable moment. It is something we actively participate in creating. Further, the opportunity to create and support a happy life is available to us in every moment of every day.

For more info on this topic take a wander over to a previous post on this blog, “How to Get Happy” and spend a few minutes checking out the video there.

Here is another little pearl I’ve come across as a vocational counselor that could tie directly back to your perceived level of happiness…

There is no one job for you. There is no one situation for you. There is no “right” answer to be found.

What I have discovered over my 30 something years on earth and my 13 years leading young adults is this; The idea that there is a destination, that there is an answer, that there is a stopping point, seems to be one of the greatest causes of depression, stress, anxiety and fear.

Goal setting?

Awesome.

Inflexible pursuit of the one true answer? Painstakingly hunting for the one job or activity you were meant to do?

Problematic at every level possible.

Here is another tough shift I’ve had to embrace. (Really embrace…not just read somewhere and post on my mirror.)

The way you take is the only thing that matters. The road you walk is going to provide you with the day to day experience you are having. How you treat others, how you treat yourself on the journey, how you perceive the world, and how you engage right now has a much greater bearing on your overall level of happiness when compared to the alternative of  obsessing, wandering, or worrying about trying to find that place or situation that you think will make everything peachy. 

Wherever you go, there you are. And that, my dears, is the cold hard truth…or the liberating paradigm shift depending on how you want to internalize that statement.

So did you think there was an answer out there that would solve your quandary, alleviate your stress, and (finally) provide you the peace you seek??

Maybe this belief is the first thing you need to let go of in order to really find what you’re looking for.

Check out this video and really put yourself in check. What do you believe about, “What you were meant to do?” How is that belief impacting your life?

Featured Photo Credit: www.satdevbirsigh.com

Happy Green Girl Photo Credit: http://www.mindbodygreen.com/0-4557/7-Steps-to-Lasting-Happiness.html

3 thoughts on “What You Were Meant To Do

  1. Thank you so much for this! I wasn’t one of those who knew what I wanted to be when I “grew up”. At 30, I am still struggling to find my place in this world. This really helped put everything in perspective for me! So many around me are so focused on wanting to know what my “end result” will be. I get focused on that and become so anxious and stressed because I don’t know! And apparently, it’s ok not to know :).

Leave a Reply

