World Service Corps Reflections: You didn’t choose me. I chose you.

by Matthew Waite – World Service Corps volunteer

wsc4

If all are called, does that mean me too? About eight months ago I felt like I should apply for World Service Corps and I didn’t know why. It didn’t make sense for me to drop everything I had going on to go spend my summer in Zambia, besides I had a good job, I was in the middle of school and I would miss out on a lot of fun events at home if I left. So I brushed the feeling away and moved on. But then it came back. So again I brushed it off and moved on. So I sought guidance, I prayed and I opened myself to listen to the God. One thing led to another and before I knew it I was sitting in Church in Zambia.

I arrived feeling less than prepared and more out of place than I could have imagined. I thought to myself, “Matt, what have you gotten yourself into, you’re in way over your head here.” So as I felt more alone than ever, I prayed and I prayed and then I prayed a little bit more. When I opened my eyes, my eyes were opened to an amazing community thousands of miles away from home, and yet I felt like I belonged.

Strangers took me into their homes and after only a couple hours they felt just like family. I got involved in the community with every opportunity I had. I joined a choir (much to the communities’ chagrin I’m sure), taught Sunday school, led youth group, and even preached three weeks in a row! Although I’m not positive what the Lord is using me for, I know he is using me. I still haven’t figured out what I’m called to do, but I know that I am called. I promise if God is using me, than he definitely wants to use you too!

Africa has taught me to live John 15:16 “You didn’t choose me! I chose you!” We are all chosen. We are all wanted. And all are called!

For more information about World Service Corps visit www.worldservicecorps.org

Leave a Reply

