The Power of “Old Age and Gray Hairs”

Photo by Adam Wade

Photo by Adam Wade

At 66 years old with two artificial hips, Pulmonary Fibrosis, and a borderline Diabetic, I cannot do the things I used to. As I watch the men on our softball team practice, I find myself wanting to join them to chase fly balls, get a few hits, catch pop-ups, and throw someone out at first base. Alas, the spirit is willing but the flesh is weak. However, just because the flesh weakens with age does not mean the spirit weakens as well! In fact according to the Psalmist, when the flesh weakens the spirit is becoming stronger and stronger.

“O God, from my youth you have taught me, and I still proclaim your wondrous deeds. So even to old age and gray hairs, O God, do not forsake me, until I proclaim your might to another generation, your power to all those to come. Your righteousness, O God, reaches the high heavens. You who have done great things, O God, who is like you? You who have made me see many troubles and calamities will revive me again; from the depths of the earth you will bring me up again. You will increase my greatness and comfort me again.”
(Psalms 71:17-21 ESV)

In all honesty, there are times when, as I look around me and see myself getting older, unable to keep up with the ever increasing technology, and notice an increasing tendency to accentuate the younger and upcoming generation at the expense of the older generation; I begin to feel left behind. Yet at the same time, never in my life have I felt closer to God than I do now. There is one thing that technology will never-ever increase and that is the gospel of Jesus Christ. Technology may figure different ways to enhance the ways of getting it to people, but without the living testimony of those who have done their level-best to live and experience the gospel, people’s faith will be technology based and not a gospel based faith in a Living God who is so far beyond technology there can be no comparison.

For us who are considered old and gray in the eyes of God, our stories of our walk of faith is just as vibrant and relevant as ever. So whatever you do, never stop telling your story. Never stop living your story because the Holy Spirit will never stop helping you write it. I KNOW the words of the Psalmist will ring true in your life, “You who have made me see many troubles and calamities will revive me again; from the depths of the earth you will bring me up again. You will increase my greatness and comfort me again.”

For those considered young, do yourself a favor: experience the wonder, the majesty, the mystery of God; and the living story and witness of Jesus Christ then watch your technology device come alive in new and exciting ways.

Glory Seed Devotional 04/25/2013

A Glory Seed Devotional
 

Leave a Reply

