Lenten Spiritual Practice- Week 4

lentwk4

Inward: Lenten Spiritual Practice Week 4

Spend some time reflecting on the following song lyrics. If you are familiar with the tune, try to hum along as you read through a couple of times. In what ways are you being asked to turn toward God in your spiritual life? As we have journeyed through the Lenten wilderness, what do these lyrics mean for you?

HOSEA, Sing a New Song #15

Come back to me with all your heart,
Don’t let fear keep us apart.
Trees do bend, tho’ straight and tall;
So must we to others’ call.

Long have I waited for your coming
Home to me and living deeply our new life.

The wilderness will lead you
To your heart where I will speak.
Integrity and justice
With tenderness you shall know.

Long have I waited for your coming
Home to me and living deeply our new life.

You shall sleep secure with peace;
Faithfulness will be your joy.

Long have I waited for your coming
Home to me and living deeply our new life.

Spend some time in prayer:

God- how are you leading me closer to you? What return is needed in my life? In what ways do I yearn for outstretched arms? What is your welcome for me?

Outward:

  1. Is there someone you have grown distant with or are harboring negative feelings toward? In what ways can you actively pursue reconciliation this week?
  2. We think of a metaphorical home with God, but reading the story of the prodigal son reminds us of the hardship of those who have lost their way and suffer the physical, emotional, and spiritual consequences of bad luck or poor decisions. Connect with a homeless ministry, reach out to someone you know is struggling with an addiction, or who just finds themselves in a low moment in life. How are you being called this week to embody the God who always welcomes and moves us toward wholeness?

One thought on “Lenten Spiritual Practice- Week 4

Leave a Reply

