Why I Follow Jesus…

Reblogged from: Herald Magazine Blog
by Alisha Bauman-Farley
Zionsville, Indiana, USA

My favorite mentors are people I have known my entire life from church. They have watched me grow, attempted to direct me in life choices, and picked me up when I have fallen.

I never understood why they loved me, and at times I wondered why they ever would want to love me. Their love is a love that is filling. It has the power to overcome failure. It has absorbed every tear I have allowed to fall and has destroyed every wall I tried building.

It has taken me some time to realize all that. Having been raised in the church, I feel like I took Jesus for granted. Church family has always surrounded me. It took some life choices that cut off my church family to realize how blessed I had been. I placed my trust in others and allowed them, instead of God, control over me.

Overwhelmed by weariness and loss, I decided living life by myself without God was too much of a burden. As soon as I opened myself back to Christ, love poured in, filling me up.
I now know that love is worth living and fighting for. Not living a mundane life or fighting a hurtful war, instead a life of meaning and a war to protect the value and Worth of All Persons. There are so many types of love out there with promises to feel good and gain stuff. In Romans 8:38–39 NRSV is a powerful testimony that nothing can separate us from God’s love:

For I am convinced that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor rulers, nor things present, nor things to come, nor powers, nor height, nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord.

I have learned that though nothing can separate us, everything sure tries hard. And when we let fear of separation and intimidation win, we willingly walk away from God’s love. It is not God’s love that fails. It is us choosing to not trust it.

I now try my hardest never to allow fear to win. I place my trust in the words, “Follow me,” knowing they will lead me on some awesome adventures. I have come to understand the love my mentors live by.

In the ministry I am called to bring now, I hope I can live in a way that others may learn of the love Jesus Christ has for all of us, and that it may lift up the value and Worth of All Persons.

2 thoughts on “Why I Follow Jesus…

  1. Beautiful! Thanks for writing what I have been thinking, too…living a life without God feels fine for a while, but then…every small setback starts to feel like a major setback, negative feelings are amplified until they become too big to handle, and life is just too too hard.
    You have said this beautifully.
    Thank you for your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

