If We Are the Body…

I was driving home from work this evening when a Casting Crowns song broke the deafening drone of tires against pavement.

If we are the body, Why aren’t his arms reaching? Why aren’t his hands healing? Why aren’t his words teaching?

Working in the medical field, I  see a lot of hurt every day. I see people when they are experiencing the worst moments of their lives. I see homeless people, I see sick and injured patients, and I see people who have seemingly given up hope on life.  I have been in the medical field since I turned 14 years old, and one of the most common questions I am asked is “Why? Why are you helping me? Why do you do what you do?” The question is the gateway to sharing my faith: All people have worth. All people were created equal. And there is always hope.

I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.
Philippians 4:13

I tend to think I am blessed to be in a position where I can share my faith with my patients. However, as I listened to “If We Are The Body” I looked around and noticed the hurt isn’t just inside the hospital walls. In my rush to or from work I neglect my surroundings.

And if we are the body, Why aren’t his feet going? Why is His love not showing them there is a way?

Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.
John 14:6

Jesus is the way, the truth, and the life. We are “his [Christ’s] body, that is, the church” Col. 1: 24. As such, His mission is our Mission. We are called to generously share, witness, and invite others. We are called to proclaim Jesus Christ and promote Communities of Joy, Hope, Love, and Peace. We are called to embrace what it means to be a “Community of Christ.”  We are called to reach out to those in need, abolish poverty and end suffering. We are called to heal spiritual, physical and emotional needs. We are called to grow as disciples and serve our God. We are called to bring about the peaceable kingdom.

What more can we do? How else can we spread the good news? How else can we share our faith? How can we share Hope with others?

Leave a Reply

