Reflections…From an Ex-YA

When I stumbled on Erica’s invitation to be a writer for the YA Blog I jumped on the opportunity –  but not because I think I am the proverbial guru sitting on the top of a mountain dispensing advice to those who are searching for life’s meaning. I jumped on the opportunity because of OUR need to keep connected.

It has been 31 years since I was a young adult. While the world has undergone many more changes than we Ex-YA’s care to admit, our need for spiritual things and our need to be encouragers for each other has not changed. Because of its agelessness (across the eons of time, and across the years of age) one of my favorite bible verses is:

“He gives strength to those who grow tired and increases the strength of those who are weak. Even young people grow tired and become weary, and young men will stumble and fall. Yet, the strength of those who wait with hope in the LORD will be renewed. They will soar on wings like eagles. They will run and won’t become weary. They will walk and won’t grow tired.”
Isaiah 40:29-31 GW

As I reflect back on my years as a young adult there were many times when my grip on life was tiring and beginning to slip. I recall  one specific occasion while I was on medical leave from work. Because of the loss of income, life for our young family was going downhill fast. One day we received a visit from my Union Steward with some money gathered from a departmental collection. As much as we needed the money to pay bills and buy food, it wasn’t the money that strengthened us. It was the compassionate, caring gesture from my co-workers. While there have been many more times when my church family has strengthened us, I want to point out that we not only need our church family, but our extended family as well. I believe one of our greatest needs (at all ages) is the need for encouragement. I would like to be one of the contributors to offer encouragement to young adults.

As an Evangelist and writer I see myself as more of an Ear than as a Voice, even though one call of the Evangelist is to be a voice whereby God blesses people. Having said that, I believe God does more listening than speaking. Therefore in the language of the CB’er (two-way radios popular back in my young adult days): “I’ve got my Ears on!”

Thanks again to Erica for the opportunity to address such a wide variety of life seekers.

Grace and PEACE,
Gary Piper

Leave a Reply

