I Have Been Changed

I Have Been Changed

Reblogged from: Herald Magazine’s “Connect | Engage | Inspire”
by Carla Long – Eurasia Mission Field

Lately, I’ve been going to the fifth floor of the Auditorium for a walk. I love it for many reasons, but first, it speaks to the math nerd who lives inside me.

I love that it takes eight laps for a mile. Using my pedometer, I’ve found I take almost 2,000 steps in that mile. (So, now, you can figure out my stride, knowing there are 5,280 feet or 63,360 inches in one mile! I’ll wait for you to get your calculator.) If I’m feeling extra nerdy, I will watch the pedometer turn to that 2,000th step as I end my walk. Ahhh…math bliss!

But, I was surprised to learn these walks speak to a deeper part of me, too. For a reason I can’t explain, at some point during the walk, the controlled part of my brain gets out of the way, and I find my mind in places I never asked it to go. Problems are solved. Answers come to questions I had never considered. People I hardly know come into my mind, and I know I need to reach out to them.

It’s a marvel and a wonder. Some days, I can hardly wait to get up there and see what I will see. The weird thing is, maybe I’m not the only one who has found this to be true.

The Greek philosopher Zeno had many famous paradoxes, but perhaps his most famous was when he said that all motion was merely an illusion. He mentioned this to his friend, Diogenes the Cynic. Diogenes got up, walked across the room, looked back at Zeno, and said, “Solvitur ambulando.” (“It is solved by walking.”) So, perhaps I am in good company.

As I walk lap after lap after lap, little impressions come to mind, like the famous thought that we can have no world peace until we each have inner peace. Or Catherine of Genoa’s famous quote, “The me in me is God.”

I can’t help but wonder if that is what is happening on these jaunts around level five. Is the “me” inside of me bursting to get out? Is it the “me in me” who answers those questions that easily could take over my life? Is it that “me” who desperately yearns to feel inner peace? I think yes.

My walk usually ends in one of two ways. I race back to my desk through the tunnel to the Temple and write down all of my new insights and knowledge gained. Or I meander back and enjoy the last minutes of a calm mind and body before my attention is called to another balance sheet, the checkbook, or an e-mail that desperately needs my attention.
Either way, I have been changed. For that, I am ever grateful.

Leave a Reply

