A Good Game of “Words With Friends”

For the past several years now I have been playing Words With Friends.
For those of you who are not aware of the game, it’s similar  to Scrabble, but digital. Not to boast, but at any given point I will have 20 or more games going at once with various friends. In my mind, there are various degrees to which people play the game. Among those 20 or so games I am playing there are a few things that ring true:

  • The moment you play the game, it will take up about a half hour of your time.
  • When you make a move against some people they will be there to make a move right back. This is true with about 5 friends I play against. They have always been there to make a counter move for every move that I make, no matter the time of day.
  • There are some who cannot stand for it to be their move. If I make a move well into the night,a few minutes later they make a move as well.
  • We could go on for hours making various moves without saying a word.
  • Then there are some people who take a while to make a move for various reasons (like they have a life or something).
  • In my case, there are certain people who I am going to loose to by 100 points.

Here are some of the things I’ve learned from Words with Friends:

  • There will always people who beat you at this game by a 100 points. And with others, you will put up a good game and lose by 1 or 2 points.
  • Then there will be those who you beat by 100 points. Or others who put up a good game and you win by 1 or 2 points.
  • So is the game of Life. There are days when we feel we could never win or get ahead, because everyone else has made better moves than we have.
  • Then there are days or weeks or months when the opposite rings true. In those times we we are just sailing along and are on top of the world. My hope and prayer for you my friends,  is that you have more days when we feel on top of the world.

Leave a Reply

