What Do You Have Time For?

At some point while browsing the web, you may have recently stumbled across an old story, which recently went viral. One time child prodigy, now famous violinist, Joshua Bell (who sells out auditoriums for over $100 per ticket) played a Bach composition, one of the most difficult violin compositions ever written, in a Washington subway during rush hour. Only 7 people out of 1, 097 paused to listen. Everyone was in too big a hurry to stop. The article sums up my feelings well: “If we can’t take the time out of our lives to stay a moment and listen to one of the best musicians on Earth play some of the best music ever written; if the surge of modern life so overpowers us that we are deaf and blind to something like that — then what else are we missing?”

I often find myself listening to people complain about how “busy” they are. I just envision my calendar from my senior year of college. My class schedule, my homework schedule, my teaching schedule, my work schedule, my resident assistant schedule, my fraternity schedule, and my church event schedule. Oh, and my fun schedule. Yes, I had to plan “fun time”. It was one of the best years of my life. Life isn’t about how much you have to do; it’s about what you do with the time you have.

I was recently working an extremely demanding event. One of my coworkers was starting to gripe, when I smiled, held my finger to my lips, turned her shoulder, and showed her the big fluffy snowflakes falling down from the sky. She stopped, smiled, maybe even laughed a little, and seemed to completely forget that she had anything to stress about at all.

Don’t let your schedule get in the way of noticing God’s miracles all around you. You should never be too busy to notice the colors of the stars twinkling in the sky, the beauty of a rising harvest moon, or the crickets’ music in the night. You don’t have time not to.

2 thoughts on “What Do You Have Time For?

  1. Trent here again, this one really sticks for me!

    As a man nearing 28 years of age, I never thought I would still be unmarried and without children, but I spent much of college not scheduling time with the ladies. Instead I focused on studies, being political, and reconciling my theism. After graduation, I rushed towards jobs and women. Lucy me, I got one of each, but I pulled farther away from my religious beliefs and family. At the end of two and a half years I was left by the fiancée and without my position, which had been eliminated. It all felt like a waste of those precious years.

    The key for me was balancing my commitment of time to each. I had to move to the other side of the country, take a job that had career potential, make time for my family, who were all back in Jersey and Michigan and get off of the internet for a year so I would have a virtual barrier and emotional distance away from my ex. All of it work, but all of it was not without God’s love and guidance. I now trust that my spirituality will carry me towards and through until I achieve that balance, and so I place it above all the others.

    Someone at my old church once told me something that I think you’re alluding to in this post: I put something between me and God, and until I reprioritized, it was NEVER going to be right. And it never was, until I made time for God, family, work, etc. – but in that order.

Leave a Reply

