Celebration of Life

Last Sunday was a celebration of life. Easter is the day in which Christians celebrate Jesus’ sacrificial crucifixion for the sins of humanity and his return to life three days later; however, it is by no means the only celebration of life. Pagans celebrate rebirth, renewal, and fertility, by paying tribute to Esther, the Goddess of Spring. Passover is a time when Jewish families remember their Hebrew ancestors whose children were spared and lives were enriched by their exodus from Egypt. Buddhists celebrate Ohigan, honoring the transitions of life by creating altars of food, flowers, and incense, to comfort the souls of their loved ones in their afterlife while they attempt to navigate from the shores of birth and death to the shores of enlightenment, in which birth and death are transcended. The list of celebrations could go on.

I celebrate the blessing of my new life. The past few years have been a constant struggle with finding joy, but I never gave up on life (though at times it seemed to be the only cure). Now I find myself rewarded in ways I could never have imagined. In January I moved to Reno, Nevada. I fell in love with my job, my community, my new friends, and my natural surroundings. I find that without the venom of negativity in my life I have more time to enjoy the world around me. Though I am poorer and working more, I find myself reading in the sunshine, listening to the birds, watching the clouds, and smiling. I am at peace. I am strong. I am learning. I am rejoicing in the life which God has granted me. I refuse to let a moment go to waste. I encourage you to strive to find this feeling in your life. What is life if not something to celebrate?

2 thoughts on “Celebration of Life

  1. Trent says:

    Making request, if by any means now at length I might have a prosperous journey by the will of God to come unto you.
    Romans 1:10

    Found your blog by accident. It’s very inspiring since it seems your are in touch with the trials and tribs of our generation. I moved out west (of you) to Sacramento on faith alone. Took two years to secure a better than minimum wage opportunity in my field. Hang in there and take stock in your faith community.

Leave a Reply

