Stalkers & Jesus

As a youth minister, I tend to spend a lot of time around youth. Shocker, I know. What I did not realize was how much the youth watch what I do.

I am a smart aleck most days. As a young adult, I am searching for meaning, identity, and direction in my life. The choices I make are heavily influential for the youth. It is easy to acknowledge the little things, like if I curse then a youth might think it is okay to curse. But what about the tougher choices in life? Are we challenging ourselves to live a life founded on Christ?

This has become very real for me lately. I have found myself sitting on the steps of a congregation with a handful of youth one evening. This is a group not afraid to ask questions or make any comment on issues from sex to drugs and everything in between. The topics began rolling one after another. With every one found the eyes of these kids staring at me, waiting for my reaction, wanting to know what I thought.

We are young adults searching for our own paths, but we cannot deny the fact that we are being watched. It is not just youth watching us either. Our own peers and even those older than us are watching. They yearn for a voice to stand above the rest, sharing Christ not only through words but through actions. Are you living as an example?

John 14:5-6
Thomas said to him, “Lord, we don’t know where you are going, so how can we know the way?” Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.  If you really know me, you will know my Father as well. From now on, you do know him and have seen him.””

We are Community of Christ. Community is working together to support the best interest of everyone. As young adults we have the powerful gift of influence. Are you willing to stand up and be unafraid to live a life founded on Christ so that others may have strength to do the same?

Leave a Reply

