Mission, Foundation, & Jesus

The Mission Initiatives lay out a much clearer understanding of action for us as a body of Christ. This is what we do.

Being called to do these things is at most times humbling. I have moments where I sit in a room full of people sharing about what God has done in their lives and I wonder, how does this become sustainable? How do we take those small, individual experiences and create them into something that lasts longer than one moment? What would God look like 24/7? I read through the gospels and I listen to others share their “coming to Christ” moments. I even go back and read through my writings to understand my own journey from the most painful moments to the ones that are filled with laughter and happiness. I realized the greatest connections I have with God is when I shut my ego up and ask God for help.

It is not just letting God help me, but even inviting God into my life. Before I get out of my car after driving to a gathering, church or non-church, I stop everything and invite God to lead me in relationships with others or open me to what He has going on and how I can be involved.

In the end it all comes down to a single question: What are the foundations of your life, your relationships, your faith? Is it Christ?

1 Corinthians 3:11 shares with us, “For no one can lay any foundation other than the one that has been laid; that foundation is Jesus Christ.”

If you get a chance, you should read the rest of 1 Corinthians, chapter 3 also. As you engage in your prayer life, whether you have one or not, pray not just for the relationships you have, but ask that they may be founded on Jesus Christ.

Before we can do anything as a body of Christ, we must make sure that the foundation we each have laid in our lives is Jesus Christ. Then and only then will we be able to do what we do.

Leave a Reply

