Europe, are you ready for me? (Am I ready for you?)

Carla Long is the new Financial Officer for Eurasia Field

Well…here I sit on a plane to Amsterdam—economy, of course. (Good thing I’m short.) It is the flight for my first overseas assignment (where I actually get paid) and I gotta tell you. I’m nervous. I mean, what if they don’t like me? What if I’m an idiot on my first trip? What if I wear clothes that make me look way too American (I know, I know, don’t wear tennis shoes with jeans!)? What if they ask me questions and I don’t know the answers? (Okay, let’s be honest, this is DEFINITELY going to happen!)

What if? What if? What if?

Planes are a good time to reflect, and it’s been a bittersweet last couple of weeks: leaving California and all of my friends there, coming back to the Midwest and friends, family and all those things that I have missed, learning about a new job that seems awfully big, and moving into a new place. Yes, it has been a great big last two weeks.

So, here I am, hoping that I can blog a bit about my journey – not just this one, but all of them! Hopefully, I can tell you what you might not know about Community of Christ in Europe (once I learn more, of course). And maybe, just maybe, we can learn together what it means to be Community of Christ in new cultures. I already know that there are going to be some missteps along the way, and I’m hoping that we can laugh about them together. *Fingers crossed that there will be laughing.* So, you pray for my journey and I’ll pray for yours and we can travel together as partners.

Join me, won’t you?

6 thoughts on “Europe, are you ready for me? (Am I ready for you?)

  1. Amol Kumar says:

    We are definitely praying and thinking about you Carla! Miss you here in California. What the world needs, is more people like Carla Long… that for sure.
    Take care, Amol & Stacy

  2. karlijo says:

    Have the best of fun Carla! Of course we know you will blow them away. And I’m sure you’ll love this new adventure too! Yep, definitely no tennis shoes with jeans, or polos, or old GU jumpers. You’re gonna look like a new woman once they’re done with you 😉 xo

  3. Annette says:

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts about your journey. It has been fun meeting with you and it was valuable talking with you about concerns, hopes and passions.

    “Answers” to your questions above… You do look American to us, but not too American 😉 We asked you questions that you didn’t have the answers to, but you tried to answer and you were honest. (As a Dutch person) I like your honesty! Your Dutch pronunciation actually is pretty good! And you did (eventually) learn how to make Dutch coffee using the ‘senseo’ 🙂

    All jokes aside, I will be praying for you and ‘Our Church’!
    – Let’s go!

  4. Kathy Sharp says:

    So, Carla, I think you’ll be a BIG HIT! But this is new information about no tennis shoes with jeans. . . I’m afraid I didn’t know that. Good, useful tip! Have an awesome journey. You always do!

Leave a Reply

