Do… Something

To be successful in life, it seems many people believe we need one thing: to be “the best”. We strive to be the strongest, richest, the most talented. We spend years working and studying, attempting to get to the top. Having goals and drive is important for our sense of self-worth, but sometimes I wonder…why? So we feel we have something to show for ourselves? So much so that often we barely have time for anything else? Is being “the best” worth it if we become so focused on our life achievements that we neglect our relationships or even our own happiness? What really makes us “the best”? When it comes down to it, what is it that really matters?

Over the years I’ve been fortunate to befriend many motivated and successful people. I’m proud of them for pursuing their passions and dreams. But, as I think about the people in my life, my “best” friends aren’t the ones with the highest degrees or the most money or fame. They are the ones that I went on spontaneous adventures with, shared laughs and deep conversations with. They are the ones who checked in when they knew I was having a hard time or left random notes to show their love or appreciation.

For me, the best people I know are the ones who have done little things to make a small impact. It’s not so much what they did, it’s that when faced with the choice to do something or do nothing, they chose to do SOMETHING. They chose to write that note, make that phone call, spent time talking out problems or just listening silently. I think the part that makes all those “somethings” REALLY something is that they did them, not because they had anything to gain, simply because they could. They made the effort. They chose to care.

“You never know when someone
May catch a dream from you.
You never know when a little word
Or something you may do
May open up the windows
Of a mind that seeks the light…
The way you live may not matter at all,
But you never know, it might.” – Author Unknown

To be “the best” person, the best disciple I can be, I think it’s important at times to step out of the competitive ring and put aside my personal agenda to do something that matters. I believe this extends outside of just in our relationships to the way we choose to respond to injustices and worldly matters as well. I think some of “the best” things we can choose to do in our lives are the things that may make no difference, and we may never know if they even meant anything at all. “But you never know, it might.”

One thought on “Do… Something

Leave a Reply

